My Favourite Things: Foundation

IMG_1052[1]Lipsticks are my new obsession but foundations have still got to be one of my most favourite beauty items to buy. I often get bored with the one I’m using and find there’s nothing worse than spending too long in Boots trying to pick what to try next for it to be a huge disappointment. I have a make up bag full of foundations that I just haven’t fallen in love with, and so won’t consider using anymore.

So I’ve rifled through my massive collection and picked my top 5 favourite foundations at the moment:

5. Rimmel Stay Matte in 103 True Ivory, £5.99 at Boots

This foundation is in the list as a bit of a fluke to be honest. I bought it when I was going to Glastonbury and needed a foundation to take with me in a bottle that isn’t glass as they don’t allow glass onto the site. The reason I picked this one up, other than the plastic packaging, was the price. I didn’t even test the shade as I had spent so long trying to decide which one to get and just wanted to get out. Its lucky that the shade turned out to be such a good match to my skin tone.

The coverage is light which has been perfect during this hot summer we’ve been having as I haven’t wanted anything that’s too heavy on my face during the day. It also has a nice texture and does a good job at mattifying my face, again perfect during these humid days! It isn’t that long lasting though and I do need to reapply throughout the day when I wear it.

4.Revlon Colorstay in 220 Natural Beige, £12.49 at Boots

I love Revlon make up. Their products are usually more expensive than others you’ll find in a drug store but I think they’re well worth it  and the shades are perfect for my skin tone, especially when I’m not fake tanning and embracing being pale.

This is the heaviest of the foundation I’ve picked in my top 5 and it’s the first foundation I ever loved so much that I re-purchased once I’d ran out. It is heavy but that means a little goes a long way so the bottle lasts an eternity. I’ve found the best way to apply is with a damp sponge.

The great thing about this foundation is that it comes in two different formulas one for normal/dry skin and one for combination/oily. I chose the oil free formula for oily skin and it was perfect. Its very long lasting (although not 16 hrs like the bottle promises). I should mention that for me long lasting usually means that I get to dinner and my make up looks acceptable. Dinner is usually 5-6 hours after I’ve applied my make up in the morning.  Its very rare that I get to the end of the day and think my face looks okay!

The biggest con with this, and I think its a biggie, is that there’s no pump to dispense the liquid. You just have to pour it out and try to control it, which can be quite difficult.

3. Revlon PhotoReady in 004 Nude, £9.99 at Boots

Another Revlon product! The coverage in this one isn’t as heavy. Its also not as long lasting, even when I use a primer so I wear this during work when I don’t mind reapplying throughout the day, if I’m in the mood to. I find that this foundation, though, highlights just the right parts of my face. Also it has a pump, yay!

2. Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow in “Cheers to me” Champagne, £25.50 at Debenhams

Benefit is a brand I’ve recently become obsessed with. And I mean obsessed. I tested this foundation out after I bought the How to Look the Best at Everything set  and this is the shade that was provided in the Light kit that I bought. At first I thought it was going to be too dark for me, but thankfully I caught the sun at Glasto and the shade was perfect. I haven’t stopped wearing it since and I’ve ended up buying the full size bottle.

The foundation gives a gorgeous, dewey finish and even though I have oily skin it seems to be quite long lasting when used with a primer. I find it best to apply this with my fingers as its very much a liquid. Its also not too heavy but can easily be built up.

1. Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation, £27 at Debenhams

I have this foundation in 2 shades: 1.0 and 2.0. It’s by far my most favourite foundation I’ve ever used. Throughout the winter I was loving my pale skin and found that this gave me the most perfect complexion. The amount of comments I got about my skin when wearing it was unbelievable. For me there are no cons at all for this foundation. As I was spending so much on a foundation for the first time, I went to get a colour match done to find the correct shade and the girls at the counter were so helpful. I was easily enamored and ended up walking away with the Naked BB Cream and the Good Karma Optical Blurring brush, which I’m glad I did as its perfect for using to apply this make up. It gives a lovely matte finish and I’ve found it to be medium-heavy coverage. Its so easy to build up though, and it still feels so light no matter how much I built it up. Its oil free, fragrance free and paraben free. I love the packaging as well as it feels really high end. I love, love, love this foundation.

What are your favourite foundations?

One thought on “My Favourite Things: Foundation

  1. Pingback: Review: Revlon ColorStay Foundation | Silver Fox Eire

Leave a Reply

