It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

 

The time has come again for me to go and visit the most amazing place in the world: Worthy Farm, the home of Glastonbury Festival of Contemporary Performing Arts. 

It’s been three years since I last stepped foot on the farm (2011 was a traumatic year where I couldn’t get a ticket, SOB!), so it’s no wonder I can’t contain my excitement, even though I’m the least prepared person ever. I have no tent, no sleeping bag, no waterproof. But its okay, my eyelashes and nails are getting done today so at least they’ll be sorted! Got my priorities right,eh!?

I’ll post when I’m back about how indescribably amazing the festival is, but for now here’s a list of things I’ve found to be essential during the times I’ve been: 

1. Suitable footwear:

Wellies are obviously essential. It takes just one day of rain to turn the site into a mudfest due to the amount of people walking through the site. But, when I last went in 2010 there was a heatwave that meant my wellies got so hot it felt like they were melting. I had taken a pair of sandals with me to travel down in but they tore my feet apart, so this year I’m taking a pair of old converse to wear in case the weather (hopefully) is too nice for wellies. 

2. Waterproof Jacket

Noone wants to be standing in the rain for days on end without a decent waterproof garment. This year, I’m not buying anything new because I have a sneaky feeling the weathers going to be shocking so I plan on taking one of my dad’s golf jackets. 

3. Toilet Roll/Tissues

Easy to forget, but you will need these for the toilets! 

4. Vicks

This is my favourite tip. This is essential to make the visits to the toilets, especially towards the end of the festival, a bit more bearable. Rub a bit of this over your nose and you will hardly notice the smell! 

5. Baby wipes

Who needs to waste precious hours standing in queues waiting to shower. Baby wipes are more than enough to get you through the weekend. It’s not like you’d be the only person there not showering, and you’ll be having such a good time you won’t even care

6. Dry Shampoo and head scarves/hats

Last time I went to Glastonbury I had a very short hair cut so just took a hat to cover my hair with after giving it a quick spray with some dry shampoo. This year I have longer hair and a full fringe and I am dreading what it’s going to look like. I have no hat this year so I’m taking a couple of head scarves from American Apparel and Batiste Dry Shampoo Tropical – Coconut & Exotic 200ml (£2.99 from Boots)

I’ve bought a few new things to try whilst I’m there this year so I’ll let you know how they are when I’m back. 

 

Leave a Reply

